Seek first the Kingdom of God

Several years ago I was confronted with the word ‘kingdom’. I thought I knew what it meant until a certain pastor from Jamaica said, ‘You Americans are hindered in your understanding of what a kingdom is because you’ve lived your whole life in a democracy. I, on the other hand, having grown up in Jamaica under British rule, where everything is owned & controlled by the King of England…’
After that introduction to a renewed understanding of what a kingdom is, I began to see the kingdom of God everywhere, starting first with the gospels in the new testament. I found out that after the temptation of Jesus that Jesus began to preach the kingdom of God. All throughout the gospels He is explaining what the kingdom of God is about. Now I see the kingdom in a whole new light and it’s all because I put into practice the verse, ‘Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness’. Putting first things first or setting my priorities has become a theme to my life. It has helped me find my way.
So, what difference does just seeking the kingdom of God make, I can hear some of you asking. Well, for starters, it is doing what Jesus said, not just giving him lip-service [But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.Jas 1:22] Also, for those of you who are familiar with the ‘Law of Attraction’, you already realize that whatever you focus on, think about or look for, that you will find. I was made painfully aware of setting my focus on what I wanted, not what I wanted to avoid when learning how to hangglide. We were in a bowl-shaped stadium which had been dug out maybe 35 ft. deep and the only obstacle on the whole field was a goal post. My instructor said to ‘avoid the goal post…’ As I watched those goal posts in order not to hit them, I flew right into them. The only thing that saved me was to crash land before hitting them. It’s not good enough to avoid what you do not want. You have to know what it is that you want/ what it is that you desire/ what are you aiming for? For me, that is the kingdom of God and that is what I’ve set my hopes & dreams, passions & desires and efforts & energies toward accomplishing. I will tell you about that vision in the next short article I post.
Just an after-thought: Since my last posting, I’ve had to search withing myself to find myself. Now I can begin… Again!

About HisChurchatNewEarthFarm

Thomas is the name given me by my Father YHVH. For those who need/require a last name you may call me Thomas ofYHVH. Creating a New Earth farm/garden is the ideal way to show and do what I believe I was put on this earth for this moment in time. I am implementing a land pi-tai system of use which I believe will prove its worth as I outline it in future posts. The fiat system of money-changers, bankers, mammon,etc has now passed and a return to freely you have received, freely give is upon us. Waking up from the dream state and walking through the darkness by faith, I've arrived at this point of my life in time. Today is the beginning of my true journey in the world.

Posted on 12/23/2013, in Kingdom of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

